Q:

How do you convert Central time to GMT?

A:

Quick Answer

Greenwich Mountain Time, or GMT, is based out of Greenwich, England. It is viewed as the median, or starting point, for all time zones. Central Standard Time, or CST, is the time zone that runs vertically through the central United States. To convert Central Time to GMT, use basic conversion charts.

Know More
How do you convert Central time to GMT?
Credit: Tetra Images N/A Getty Images

Full Answer

  1. Determine Central Time

    CST converts to Central Daylight Time, or CDT, when the United States is on Daylight Savings Time from late March to early November. This impacts the conversion to GMT.

  2. Add hours to Central Time

    Central Time is behind GMT. When the U.S. is on Standard Time, CST is six hours behind GMT. During Daylight Savings, CDT is five hours behind GMT. Therefore, to convert Central Time to GMT, add six hours to CST and five hours to CDT.

  3. State GMT Time

    If it is 9 a.m. CST, add 6 hours to get 3 p.m. GMT. Inversely, if it is 9 p.m. CST, add 6 hours to get 3 a.m. GMT. For Daylight Savings, if it is 6 a.m. CDT, add 5 hours to get 11 a.m. GMT. Inversely, if it is 6 p.m. CDT, add 5 hours to get 11 p.m. GMT.

Learn more about Time Zones

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How can you convert 3pm GMT to your time zone?

    A:

    In order to convert 3 p.m. GMT to a specific time zone, first determine the difference between the local time zone and GMT. After you figure this out, add or subtract that time difference from GMT.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the Greenwich Meridian?

    A:

    The Greenwich Meridian, or prime meridian, is the imaginary line that runs through Greenwich, England, and it is designated as 0 degrees longitude. This line is used as a starting point for measuring the lines of east and west longitude, and it helps create the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. It was chosen as the standard in 1884 at an international convention of 25 countries.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you change GMT to EDT?

    A:

    GMT is commonly known as Greenwich Mean Time. It is considered the world standard time. It is also referred to as "UTC," or Coordinated Universal Time. Conversion of a time listed in GMT to Eastern Daylight Time is a matter of subtraction.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the time difference between GMT and EST?

    A:

    The time difference between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and Eastern Standard Time (EST) is 5 hours, according to the WWP's Eastern Standard Time website. During Daylight Savings Time, when the clocks are turned ahead an hour in EST, the time difference drops to 4 hours between the two time zones.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore