How many moons does Neptune have?


Quick Answer

Neptune has 13 confirmed moons and one provisional moon. The first discovery of a Neptune moon occurred on Oct. 10, 1846, a mere 17 days after the discovery of the planet itself. The first moon identified orbiting Neptune is Triton.

Know More
How many moons does Neptune have?
Credit: Corey Ford/Stocktrek Images Stocktrek Images Getty Images

Full Answer

The other moons around Neptune include Nereid, Naiad, Thalassa and Despina. Galatea, Larissa, Proteus, Halimede and Psamathe orbit the planet as well. The remaining moons in orbit around the gaseous planet are Sao, Laomedeia and Neso. The provisional moon is known as S/2004 N1. Neptune is named for the Roman god of the sea. The moons bear the names of lesser sea gods and nymphs.

Learn more about Planets

Related Questions