How many planets are in the solar system?


Quick Answer

The solar system contains eight planets. In order of their distance from the sun, the eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. From 1930 until 2006, Pluto was considered the solar system's ninth planet.

Know More

Full Answer

Based on their composition, Earth, Mars, Venus and Mercury are classified as terrestrial planets due to their solid surfaces. The planets Jupiter and Saturn are known as gas giants, while Neptune and Uranus are considered ice giants. Other features of the solar system include dwarf planets, such as Pluto, comets, asteroids, moons, the sun, the Kuiper Belt and the Oort Cloud.

Learn more about Planets

Related Questions