What are the three types of RNA?


The three types of ribonucleic acid are messenger RNA, ribosomal RNA and transfer RNA. The common abbreviations for the names are mRNA, rRNA and tRNA. Messenger RNA moves from the nucleus to the cytoplasm of the cell, while ribosomal RNA and transfer RNA reside only in the cytoplasm.

Messenger RNA translates the genetic information inside a cell's nucleus and then transports it to the cell's cytoplasm so that the cell can use the information to form proteins. Ribosomal RNA uses the information provided by the mRNA to direct the manufacture of proteins in the ribosomes located in the cell cytoplasm. Transfer RNA transfers specific proteins to the ribosome to match the rRNA's directions.

Learn More

Related Questions