What is the time difference between GMT and EST?
Credit:artpartner-imagesPhotographer's ChoiceGetty Images
Q:

What is the time difference between GMT and EST?

A:

Quick Answer

The time difference between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and Eastern Standard Time (EST) is 5 hours, according to the WWP's Eastern Standard Time website. During Daylight Savings Time, when the clocks are turned ahead an hour in EST, the time difference drops to 4 hours between the two time zones.

 Know More

Full Answer

EST consists of the east coast of the United States and Canada. In the United States, the Daylight Savings Time period begins at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday in March and ends at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November, when clocks are turned back a whole hour.

Learn more about Time Zones

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What time is 18:00 GMT in the different regions of the United States?

    A:

    When the time is 18:00 GMT, it is noon in the eastern United States, 11 a.m. in the central United States, 10 a.m. in the mountains, 9 a.m. along the Pacific, 8 a.m. in Alaska and 6 a.m. in Hawaii. The time 18:00 GMT is the same as 6 p.m.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the difference between EST and EDT?

    A:

    The difference between Eastern Standard Time and Eastern Daylight Time is one hour, as Eastern Standard Standard Time is one hour earlier. Eastern Daylight Time is used in the summer months. Conversely, Eastern Standard Time is used in the winter months, where clocks are set one hour earlier.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is 4pm EST in PST?

    A:

    When it is 4 p.m. EST, it is 1 p.m. PST. Eastern Standard Time (EST) is the earliest time zone in the United States and comprises 17 eastern states and the District of Columbia. Eastern Standard Time is five hours behind Coordinated Universal Time, equivalent to Greenwich Mean Time.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you convert Central time to GMT?

    A:

    Greenwich Mountain Time, or GMT, is based out of Greenwich, England. It is viewed as the median, or starting point, for all time zones. Central Standard Time, or CST, is the time zone that runs vertically through the central United States. To convert Central Time to GMT, use basic conversion charts.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore