Q:

What does it mean when the bandwidth limit is exceeded?

A:

Quick Answer

When bandwidth is exceeded on a device or service, it means that the user has gone over the resources allotted to his or her account for a given time period. Larger images, video files and other media use more bandwidth, and bandwidth is consumed every time a user accesses that media.

  Know More

Full Answer

For example, Photobucket limits users to 10 GB of bandwidth per month on a free account for its photo sharing service, while AT&T limits bandwidth for its smartphone customers. When bandwidth is exceeded, the user is either charged for the additional bandwidth or the user cannot use the service until the next month.

Bandwidth is incorporated into shared web hosting accounts, cloud hosting accounts and other services as well. In scientific terms, "bandwidth" refers to the bit rate or frequency of a signal sent by an electronic device.

Learn more about Internet & Networking

Related Questions

Explore