The only way to learn the identity of someone with their license plate number is by contacting the local or state police, and the police can only assist in locating the individual if a person has been involved in an accident such as a hit-and-run. Vehicle registration information is legally considered confidential unless the individual conducting the search has obtained a legal sanction in order to access the information. There are online sites that offer limited information on vehicle owners, but these sites charge a fee.
Though it varies by state, there are several methods that can be used to change an address on a driver's license. In some cases, the licensee must go to a department of motor vehicles office to make the change, but some states allowed it to be done online or by mail. The licensee may need to purchase a duplicate license or renew it to have a license with the changed address.
According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, as of June 2014, hybrid automobiles, gasoline-powered cars from 1975 or older, electric cars, natural-gas-powered cars, trailers, motorcycles and diesel-powered cars from 1997 or older are exempt from smog testing. All other vehicles are required to undergo smog inspections.
A 20-year study updated in 2013 revealed that black cars are up to 47 percent more likely to be involved in an automotive accidents than cars of any other color. This phenomenon is due to the low visibility of black-colored cars, especially during twilight hours.
More than 50 percent of people fail their road driving test the first time, according to Driving Peace, an organization that deals with driving phobia. When it comes to the written portion of the driving test, approximately 44 percent of people fail, according to CBS News.
The length of time that speeding points remain on a driver's license varies by state. In Nevada, Maine and New Mexico, points stay on a license for one year, and in Massachusetts, points stay on a license for six years, as of 2014.
Reaction distance is the measurement of how far a vehicle travels between the time a driver realizes the brakes must be applied and when the driver actually starts pushing on the brakes. If the driver is capable and paying attention, the reaction distance lasts about three-quarters of a second.
The vehicle identification number of a boat trailer is often located on two sticker-type plates: one is on the side trailer frame behind the tongue while the other is on the right taillight just outside of the side frame. The VIN can also be located in the rear bumper.
Motorcycle vehicle identification numbers are usually stamped into the steering neck of the motorcycle. This is located just above the front fork, which is where the steel wraps around the front tire to maneuver it, and behind the headlight, if a headlight is equipped.
While requirements vary by state, to pass a state vehicle inspection, a car must be free of leaks, have working brakes and acceptable car emissions levels. All parts related to safety must be in good working order. Fluids and oils required to keep the car running smoothly must be at the proper levels. Brake pedals and linings should show no signs of wear, and the parking brake must work.
According to the DUI/DWI Foundation, when a driver gets his driver's license revoked, he is no longer legally allowed to drive in that state. A driver's license is revoked if a driver habitually breaks the laws and rules of driving.
Tips for safe driving include giving full attention to driving to ensure the safety of every passenger in the car and only operating a motor vehicle when well rested. Cellular devices and passengers are two common distractions. If the driver is too tired to drive, he should wait to continue his trip after resting.
As the process to receive a driving-permit replacement varies, individuals losing their permit must follow the issuing state's process. Generally, this involves returning to the Department of Motor Vehicles, requesting a replacement and paying any applicable fees. If the individual is under age 18, most states require a parent to accompany him. Some states require the permit holder to report the loss to the police.
A driver's permit is a permit required for first time drivers to be able to drive in most states. A driver's permit often requires applicants to pass a vision and knowledge exam and have a parent or guardian sign the application if the applicant is under 18 years of age.
To replace a lost driver's license, visit the local Department of Motor Vehicles. In most states, it is necessary to provide documentation proving identity and residence to receive a replacement license.
There are multiple models of street-legal Lamborghini-brand sports cars that can can be legally owned and operated in the United States. Lamborghini dealership employees may be able to advise buyers on which cars and modifications fit within the letter of the law.
When an ambulance siren is heard while out on the road, drivers should pull over and give the emergency vehicle right of way. The ambulance siren is typically only used when the situation is dire and a person either needs to get to hospital quickly or is waiting for assistance at home. By law, drivers must do everything possible to ensure safe passage of ambulances in a rush.
In 2012, the number of motorcycles registered in the U.S. was around 9 million. The Department of Motor Vehicles considers a motorcycle to be any two- or three-wheel powered vehicle for on-road, off-road or dual-purpose use.
A person can find out if a driver's license is suspended by contacting the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the state that issued the license. Contact methods vary by state.
A boat's identification number can be checked by requesting a report at the Department of Motor Vehicle office where the boat was last owned. The hull identification number is a 12-character serial number usually located on the transom of the boat at the starboard side. It should be noted that the HIN is different from the State registration number often located on the bow of the boat.
As of 2012, there were more than 27.7 million total vehicles registered in California. California has the highest total number of registered vehicles in the country, with more than 7 million more vehicles than the Texas, which has the second most.