Web Results

Antarctic Treaty System


The Antarctic Treaty and related agreements, collectively known as the Antarctic Treaty System (ATS), regulate international relations with respect to Antarctica, ...

ATS - The Antarctic Treaty


The Antarctic Treaty was signed in Washington on 1 December 1959 by the twelve countries whose scientists had been active in and around Antarctica during ...

Antarctic Treaty - US Department of State


Treaty Text. Narrative. The Antarctic Treaty, the earliest of the post-World War II arms limitation agreements, has significance both in itself and as a precedent.

Antarctic Treaty - Classroom Antarctica - Australian Antarctic Division


Antarctic Treaty Summary, the Antarctic Treaty Nations

www.coolantarctica.com/Antarctica fact file/science/antarctic_treaty_summary.php

A summary of the Antarctic Treaty, an outline of the 14 articles.

Antarctic Treaty | Treaties & Regimes | NTI


Number of Parties: 53 states, of which 12 are original members and Consultative Parties, 29 Consultative Parties with voting status at Antarctic Treaty ...

Antarctic Treaty | 1959 | Britannica.com


Antarctic Treaty, (Dec. 1, 1959), agreement signed by 12 nations, in which the Antarctic continent was made a demilitarized zone to be preserved for scientific ...

The Antarctic Treaty - United States Antarctic Program


Signed in 1959, the Antarctic Treaty provides the legal framework for the region beyond 60º South latitude. It reserves the region for peace, promotes scientific ...



The spirit of cooperation and mutual understanding with which _ representatives of the 12 countries drafted the Antarctic Treaty and signed it for their respective ...

Disarmament Treaties Database: Antarctic Treaty


Antarctic Treaty. Status of the Treaty; Text of the Treaty. Signed at Washington: 1 December 1959. Entered into force: 23 June 1961. Depositary: Government of ...

More Info

The Antarctic Treaty - British Antarctic Survey


A land which the Antarctic Treaty parties call a natural reserve, devoted to peace and ... Hag Pike on the Antarctic Peninsula under the midnight sun , Antarctica ...

US NSF - OPP - ANT - The Antarctic Treaty


The Antarctic Treaty. The 12 nations listed in the preamble (below) signed the Antarctic Treaty on 1 December 1959 at Washington, D.C. The Treaty entered into ...

Australia and the Antarctic Treaty System — Australian Antarctic ...


Apr 7, 2016 ... Activities in Antarctica and its surrounding seas are governed by a unique set of agreements between nations known as the Antarctic Treaty ...