Web Results

Territory of Papua


The Territory of Papua comprised the southeastern quarter of the island of New Guinea from 1883 to 1975. In 1883, the Government of Queensland annexed this  ...

Territory of Papua 1906-1949 (Australia) - CRW Flags Inc.


Nov 18, 2015 ... In 1906, the colony became the Australian Territory of Papua (the first territory of the Commonwealth government). Once the relevant legislation ...

British Empire: Pacific: British New Guinea


The Australian position to annex the territory was increased as the British Liberal Party began to come under ... The colony was also renamed Papua Territory.

History - Papua New Guinea - problem, area, future


British New Guinea passed to Australian control in 1902 and was renamed the Territory of Papua in 1906. German New Guinea remained intact until the ...

Papua New Guinea : History | The Commonwealth


In 1906, Australia took over British New Guinea, renamed a year earlier as the Territory of Papua. The Australian army occupied German New Guinea in World ...

The economic development of the Territory of Papua and New Guinea


The Territory of Papua and New Guinea is administered as a single political unit by Australia. It is an almost totally undeveloped area with an economy that is ...

New Guinea | Paige West


Dr. West has worked in Papua New Guinea since 1997. ... of the Australian territory was given the colonial name the Mandated Territory of New Guinea in 1921, ...

History of Papua New Guinea - Lonely Planet Travel Information


In 1906 British New Guinea became the Territory of Papua and its administration was taken over by newly independent Australia. From 1907 until his death in ...

Papua New Guinea profile - Timeline - BBC News - BBC.com


A chronology of key events in the history of Papua New Guinea. ... Mandated Territory of New Guinea is governed totally separately from the Territory of Papua .



On 15 January someone made another attempt to burn down the barracks arch. He was unsuccessful. E.D.W.. THE TERRITORY OF PAPUA AND NEW GUINEA.

More Info

Historical Flags (Papua New Guinea) - CRW Flags Inc.


Oct 19, 2015 ... Papua New Guinea is made up of two former colonial territories: ... The Australian External Territory of Papua, consisting of the southeastern ...

Chapter 3: Territory of Papua Records, 1906–42 - Papua New ...


Chapter 3: Territory of Papua Records, 1906–42 of Papua New Guinea 1883– 1942: Microfilm Collections Research Guide.

Independence of Papua New Guinea, 1975 - Fact sheet 261 ...


... of Papua – which had been an Australian territory since 1906 ...