Web Results

List of countries that have gained independence from the United ...


This is a list of countries and territories formerly ruled or administered by the United Kingdom or part of the British Empire, with their independence days.

How many countries were ruled by the British Empire? - Quora


Technically there was more than one (see here - British Empire - for more details) , but a .... re-establish their control over Sudan, once more officially in the name of the Egyptian Khedive, but in actuality treating the country as a British colony.

What were the countries of the British Empire? | Reference.com


The British Empire held Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Tonga, Fiji, Western Samoa, India, Burma, Papa New Guinea, Malaya, Sarawak, Brunei, Oman, Iraq, ...

There Are Only 22 Countries in the World That the British Haven't ...


Nov 8, 2012 ... He talks about each one in All the Countries We've Ever Invaded: And ... For example, he lists the countries based on their current geographic borders and names, ... Why is the British Empire considered to be a good thing?

Historical Country Names - Nations Online Project


Information about historical country names, former country name, non-current ... The Colony and Protectorate of Kenya was part of the British Empire in Africa.

How many countries did the British Empire rule? | Yahoo Answers


Nov 9, 2011 ... I was doing a bit of research and it was quite amazing to see just how vast were the territories rules by the British Empire - nearly half of the ...

British Empire: Entering and Exiting the Empire


Dominions were fully independent countries after the 1931 Statute of Westminster, ... Name, Company, Colony, Protectorate, Dominion, Mandate, Independence.

The British Empire


At its peak, the British Empire was the largest formal empire that the world had ever ... My name is Stephen Luscombe and I have been a teacher for many years . .... It really began to disintegrate into the two distinctive countries of England and  ...

Countries of the British Empire Quiz - Sporcle


Can you name the modern countries that were part of the British Empire?

British have invaded nine out of ten countries - so look out ...


Nov 4, 2012 ... Britain has invaded all but 22 countries in the world in its long and ... Every schoolboy used to know that at the height of the empire, almost ... The research lists countries based on their current national boundaries and names.

More Info

The British Empire in Victorian Times - The Victorian School


The following lists most of the countries that were part of the British Empire. They may ... Countries of the British Empire during Victorian Times and later. Name.

Historical Atlas of the British Empire


Historical Atlas of the British Empire ... EARLY EMPIRE · Height of Empire · Dominions · COMMONWEALTH OF NATIONS · Realms · The Future · Legacy ...

BBC - KS3 Bitesize History - The British Empire through time ...


An 'empire' is a group of countries ruled over by a single monarch or ruling power . An empire doesn't need an 'emperor'. The British Empire comprised Britain, ...