Web Results

Solar System


The Solar System is the gravitationally bound system comprising the Sun and the objects that ... The four smaller inner planets, Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars, are terrestrial planets, being primar...

The Inner Planets of Our Solar System - Universe Today


Dec 3, 2014 ... Three of the four inner planets (Venus, Earth and Mars) have atmospheres substantial enough to generate weather. All of them have impact ...

Terrestrial Planets: Definition & Facts About the Inner Planets


Aug 10, 2015 ... The four inner planets of the solar system — those closest to the sun — are terrestrial planets having Earth-like features.

Rocky Inner Planets - SolStation.com


The four innermost planets in the Solar System (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars ) are sometimes called the "terrestrial" planets because of their proximity to ...

The Inner Planets - Bob the Alien's Tour of the Solar System


The diagram below shows the orbits of the four Inner Planets. It shows how close they are to each other when compared to Jupiter, the first of the Outer Planets.

Our Solar System - Inner Planets - Ron Yerby


Inner Planets. The inner four planets are called terrestrial planets. That means that they are like the earth in some ways. The terrestrial planets Mercury, Venus,  ...

Three Major Characteristics of the Inner Planets | The Classroom ...


The four inner planets -- Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars -- share several features in common. Astronomers call these the “terrestrial planets” because they have ...

Terrestrial Planet Facts (The Inner Planets) - Space Facts


The four innermost planets of our solar system (Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars) are called the “terrestrial” planets. The name comes from the word “telluric” ...

High School Earth Science/Inner Planets - Wikibooks, open books ...


The four planets closest to the sun—Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars—are the inner planets, also called the terrestrial planets because they are similar to Earth.

Terrestrial Planets: Facts about the 4 Inner (Rocky) Planets


In our solar system, the terrestrial planets are the inner planets - i.e. the ones ... The four terrestrial planets are (in order of distance from the Sun): Mercury, ...

More Info

The Inner and Outer Planets in Our Solar System - Universe Today


Apr 23, 2014 ... The four inner planets are called terrestrial planets because their surfaces are solid (and, as the name implies, somewhat similar to Earth ...

Inner Planets of the Solar System: Mercury, Venus ... - Study.com


Take a tour of the four inner planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. Known as the terrestrial planets, find out what makes each of them unique...

Differences between the Inner and Outer Planets - Bob the Alien's ...


One group contains the four planets closest to the Sun - Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. These are known as the Inner Planets or the Terrestrial Planets.