If you are a 17-year-old living in Texas or if you're a parent wanting to lay down
the law, you might be curious to know the Texas laws regarding the legal rights of
Any minor petitioning a Texas court for emancipation -- that is, being declared an
adult in the eyes of the law -- must be a Texas resident, 17 years old (or 16 and ...
Jan 17, 2017 ... These topics include basic legal terminology, rights of youth in child abuse ...
They may be able to provide information on whether a 17-year-old ...
May 30, 2013 ... When a child turns 17 in Texas, they are subject to different laws and may have
different rights under the law. ... here in the Sugar Land, Fort Bend County Texas
area excited to file a runaway charge on a 17 year old. When ...
It is not legal to move out at the age of 17 in Texas, unless one has been
emancipated by the courts. In the State of Texas, the "age of majority" is 18 years
Jun 3, 2015 ... Since 1918, Texas has considered 17-year-olds to be adults when they ... Perry
said the state would not fully comply with the prison rape law).
Runaway status: According to Texas law, there is no specific classification for ... (
b) 17 years of age or at least 16 years of age living separately from a guardian,
and (c) ... A youth can petition for emancipation if she is at least 16 years old, is
an ... the state, and understands the rights and obligations of an emancipated
Sex ed Rights ... Texas received $5,402,595 in federal funds for abstinence-only-
until-marriage programs in Fiscal Year 2010. ... In Texas, you can legally consent
to sexual intercourse when you become 17 years old. ... If you are under 18 years
old and want an abortion, one parent or legal guardian must be notified and ...
I know it is legal to move out when 17, and after 24 hours if you leave when ... to
live with your parents doesn't necessarily warrant terminating their rights. ... A
seventeen year old (unemancipated, unmarried, and not in the ...