Web Results

Outer planets


The outer planets are those planets in the Solar System beyond the asteroid belt, and hence refers to the gas giants, which are in order of their distance from the Sun: Jupiter is the largest planet...

The Outer Planets of the Solar System - Universe Today


Jul 5, 2016 ... The outer planets are also called the Jovian planets or gas giants. Like the inner planets, the outer planets have similar characteristics to one ...

The Outer Planets: Giant Planets: What Are They, and Where Are ...


SUMMARY: The jovian planets are essentially big balls of gas, each surrounded ... Gravity by itself would make a planet spherical, but their rapid rotation flattens ...

The Outer Planets of the Solar System | Jupiter, Saturn, Neptune ...


Because it spins so quickly, Saturn looks a bit flat, with a longer diameter through the equator than through the poles. Saturn is a very light planet - the only one ...

What are the inner and outer planets? - MoonPhases.info


The outer solar system contains Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Once known as the ninth planet, Pluto is now classified as a dwarf planet. The inner and ...

The Outer Planets | Scholastic.com


There is a very great distance between the inner and outer planets. This region is called the Asteroid Belt and large chunks of rock swarm around and around in ...

Gas Giant Facts (The Outer Planets) - Space Facts


An ice giant planet is one that is at least ten times the mass of Earth, and ... made up of dust, chunks of material (ice, in the outer solar system), and small moons.

Our Solar System - Outer Planets - RonYerby.com


... of rock and iron) between Mars and Jupiter separate the four inner planets from the five outer planets. Pluto ... Jupiter is the largest planet in the solar system.

What are the characteristics of the outer planets? | Reference.com


According to Universe Today, the four outer planets of the solar system are all gas ... These planets are called Jovian planets to distinguish them from the four ...

What are the names of the outer planets? | Reference.com


The names of the outer planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Jupiter is the largest planet in the Solar System. All four planets are considered gas ...

More Info

Gas Giants: Facts About the Outer Planets - Space.com


Aug 25, 2015 ... These four large planets, also called jovian planets after Jupiter, reside in the outer part of the solar system past the orbits of Mars and the ...

Outer Planets of the Solar System: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune ...


Today's unique tour of the solar system includes breathtaking views of the four outer planets, commonly called gas giants: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

The Outer Planets - Bob the Alien's Tour of the Solar System


The Outer Planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. These are ... Neptune, the most distant planet, takes almost 165 to complete a journey around the Sun.