Web Results



Ethical monotheism is central in all sacred or normative texts of Judaism. .... from the Pharisees) has always held that the books of the Torah (called the written ...

Holy Books in Judaism


The other Holy Book for the Jewish religion is the Talmud which includes the ... Also included in the Mishnah are a collection of wise sayings called the Pirke ...

Judaism 101: Torah


... the concept of Torah, the books of Jewish scriptures and other sacred Jewish ... The so-called Old Testament is known to us as Written Torah or the Tanakh.

Jewish Holy Books - Scheinerman.net


This is by no means an exhaustive list of all the books which Jews consider to be ... This is called the Haftarah portion, from the root [pey- tet- reish] meaning ...

What are the Jewish holy books called? - Religion Answers - Wikia


The Jewish holy books are called - the Torah (the books of Law, sometimes called the Law of Moses)]]

Judaism for Children - Primary Homework Help


? The most holy Jewish book is the Torah (the first five books of the Hebrew Bible ). Others include ...

What are the Jewish Holy Books called - Answers.com


1) Torah (תורה) also called the "Teachings" or the Pentateuch and is the primary Jewish holy book. It is composed of the 5 Books of Moses (also called the Books  ...

BBC - Religions - Judaism: The Torah


Aug 13, 2009 ... The Torah is the first section or first five books of the Jewish bible. ... in its entirety including all authoritative Jewish religious teachings throughout history. ... This is called having an Aliyah which is Hebrew for going up.

What Is the Torah? (Judaism's Most Important Text)


It contains the Five Books of Moses and is the source of the Ten ... This is called a “Sefer Torah” and it is handwritten by a sofer (scribe) who must copy the text ...

Hebrew Bible | Jewish sacred writings | Britannica.com


Hebrew Bible, also called Hebrew Scriptures, Old Testament, or Tanakh, collection ... was first compiled and preserved as the sacred books of the Jewish people.

Popular Q&A
Q: What is the Jewish Holy book called?
A: The Torah. It is otherwise known as the Old Testament. It is called the Bible The Tanach, which is made up of the Torah, the Nevi'im and the Ketuvim. The Tanakh... Read More »
Source: wiki.answers.com
Q: What is the Jewish Holy Book called?
A: The most holy Jewish book is the Torah (the first five books of the Hebrew Bible). Others include Judaism's oral tradition, the written form of which is known a... Read More »
Source: www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk
Q: What is the Jewish holy book called?
A: We call it the Bible (or Holy Scriptures). Another surprise! Read More »
Source: mastermason.com
Q: What are the Jewish Holy Books called.
A: Answer 1. Introduction. The Jewish holy book is the Tanakh (Jewish Bible), containing the Torah and the prophetic books. The Torah is the most holy book of Juda... Read More »
Source: www.answers.com
Q: What is the Jewish holy book called?
A: Tanakh is the holy book of the Jews. It is to what the Holy Bible is to the Read More »
Source: www.chacha.com