Web Results

Border states (American Civil War)


Unshaded areas were not states before or during the Civil War. In the context of the American Civil War (1861–1865), the border states were slave states that ...

Civil War: Border States - Brothers at War - Ducksters


The border states during the Civil War were the slave states that didn't leave the Union. These states included Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, and Missouri.

Abraham Lincoln and the Border States - University of Michigan


Source: James M. McPherson, The Negro's Civil War (New York: Pantheon Books, ... to Lincoln's policies concerning the border states during the remainder of the war. ... In broad terms, Lincoln's policies were fairly successful in Maryland,  ...

Border States - United States American History


The Border States were slave states that shared a border with free states to the ... All remained in the Union after the outbreak of the Civil War, except Virginia.

SparkNotes: The Civil War 1850–1865: The Union Side: 1861–1863


Second, the border states were important economic engines for the Union, primarily ... During the war, Lincoln faced opposition and criticism from a variety of ...

Border States In The Civil War - Home of the American Civil War


Feb 15, 2002 ... Marylanders were much more divided in their sympathies, being distinctly ... during the Baltimore Riots in March 1861, and though the state ...

Civil War Border States - Thomas' Legion


Civil War Border States Map List Maryland Missouri Kentucky West Virginia ... During the American Civil War (1861-1865) there were five Border States: ...

Border State Civil War Secession Border States Slavery Map


During the American Civil War (1861-1865) the Border States were geographically vital to the conflict, as both the Union and Confederacy recognized the ...

Secession - American Civil War - HISTORY.com


Secession, as it applies to the outbreak of the American Civil War, comprises the series of ... The border slave states of Maryland, Delaware, Kentucky, and Missouri ... Fifty counties of western Virginia were loyal to the Union government, and in ... The very thing that Madison feared took on a concrete form during the party ...

Border States - mrlincolnandfreedom.org


The loyalty of the Border States were a pressing concern for both the ... to lose the war; and in all these states the secessionists were sleeplessly at ...... Michael Burlingame, editor, Lincoln Observed: Civil War Dispatches of Noah Brooks, p.

More Info

The Ordeal of the Border States - The Civil War (U.S. National Park ...


Engraving of Union troops firing on Baltimore citizens during Pratt Street Riot. In the Border States, civilian loyalties were divided, with some favoring secession ...

The Border States - National Park Service


The Border States were located geographically in too central a place to stay apart ... Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, and West Virginia--comprised the Civil War's ...

What were considered "Border States" during the American Civil War?


Border states in the American Civil War were states that permitted slavery but did not leave the Union to join the Confederacy. The states recognized by both ...