Web Results

Late Rent Fees | Nolo.com

www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/free-books/renters-rights-book/chapter3-6.html

The basics of late rent fees, including limits on how much landlords can charge. ... the landlord two days late and he tells you he will accept it only if you pay an ...

California Late Fees, Termination for Nonpayment of Rent, and ...

www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/california-late-fees-termination-nonpayment-rent-other-rent-rules.html

If you don't pay rent when it is due, the landlord may begin charging you a late fee. Under California law, a late fee will be enforced only if the fee is a reasonable ...

What If the Rent Is Late - MassLegalHelp

www.masslegalhelp.org/housing/private-housing/ch5/what-if-the-rent-is-late

If you are late paying the rent, a landlord may try to charge you an extra fee or ... If the late payment penalty clause says that the landlord can collect a late fee ...

Late fees - Texas Tenant Advisor

www.texastenant.org/late_fees.html

Late Fees. A landlord can charge a reasonable late fee if you pay rent after the due date and any grace period according to your lease agreement. If you do not ...

Rights of Tenants: Rent | Pine Tree Legal Assistance

ptla.org/rights-tenants-rent

If you do not pay your rent within 15 days after it is due, your landlord can charge a late fee. The fee cannot be more than 4% of one month's rent. For example, if ...

Late Fees - California Tenant Law

www.caltenantlaw.com/LateFees.htm

Your lease says you have to pay late fees if your money is paid after the 5th of the ... Your landlord threatens to evict you if you don't pay the late fees he charges. ... (a) This section does not apply in any case where another statute expressly ...

My landlord charges $75 if the rent is 3 days late. Is that OK ...

www.brickunderground.com/blog/2015/02/realty_bites_late_fees

Feb 27, 2015 ... My landlord charges $75 if the rent is 3 days late. ... Yes, your landlord can ask to you to fork over extra cash if your check isn't in on the 1st.

Living in the Rental Unit - Department of Consumer Affairs - State of ...

www.dca.ca.gov/publications/landlordbook/living-in.shtml

However, the landlord or agent can require you to pay rent in cash if, within the last ... What if you've signed a lease or rental agreement that contains a late-fee ... The landlord also can charge the tenant a fee if the tenant's check for the rent (or  ...

Late Fees | Metropolitan Council on Housing

metcouncilonhousing.org/help_and_answers/late_fees

Late fees are additional charges, other than the rent, which landlords charge when ... Note: If you are facing eviction for nonpayment of rent, you can ask that late ...

Illinois Legal Aid | How Much Can a Landlord Charge For a Late Fee?

www.illinoislegalaid.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=home.dsp_content&contentID=9087

Information on the limits to how much a landlord can charge for late fees for rent. ... And unless you live in a mobile home park, no grace period is required. There's no late fee at all unless there's a written lease. Oral leases are valid and ...

Popular Q&A
Q: Can a landlord charge you late fee on rent after a year.
A: That depends on the state. In Massachusetts, the rent has to be 30 days late, and the late fee has to be agreed to in the rental agreement. Every state is diffe... Read More »
Source: www.answers.com
Q: Can a landlord charge you for being late late fees on your rent?
A: If that is specified in your lease agreement, yes--a landlord can assess those late fees, whether it is one day, or one week late. Take a look at the agreement ... Read More »
Source: www.webanswers.com
Q: Once a landlord excepts rental payment can he charge you for rent...
A: He can if there is no written designation for the rent. I suggest getting a receipt from your landlord if you are suspicious. Think Properties NYC Read More »
Source: wiki.answers.com
Q: If you are on section 8 can a landlord raise your rent without no...
A: If you are on section 8, any rent increases must be approved by the Housing Authority administering your program. The amount of rent you pay has to be based on ... Read More »
Source: wiki.answers.com
Q: Can a landlord charge you more in late fees than your months rent...
A: Get legal advice from an experienced Landlord & Tenant lawyer. It's $39 for a 15-minute phone call. You'll be surprised how much you can accomplish in 15 minute... Read More »
Source: www.avvo.com