License plates are issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles. ..... It is
a law that allows vintage cars to be registered to use vintage license plates.
If you have brought an antique or custom-built vehicle into California for a first
time registration, or if you have custom-assembled a vehicle in the State, you will
Classic cars do qualify for a smog exemption in California. By definition, a classic
or antique car is any vehicle that is 25 years or more... ... Car Registration ...
Vehicles registered in areas subject to the biennial smog certification program
are required to submit evidence of a smog certification every other renewal
It could have taken away the keys to your cherished collector car. ... California
was going after illegally titled and registered specialty construction vehicles (SCV
Oct 12, 2011 ... Page 1 of 2 - No back penalties for old cars in California - posted in Legislation:
Many of you may already know this. I still find many that do not though. ... old cars
from having any back penalties due to not registering vehicles or not ... I'm
seriously thinking about buying a classic car (more than 25 years old...
Apr 23, 2015 ... A bill in California would allow some classic car owners pay $200 to ...
Improvement Fund, just like a portion of present vehicle registration fees. .... How
many 1970's and earlier vehicles do you see being DD's in California?
Sep 18, 2004 ... Classic car buffs upset over pending law that will cut exemptions from ... 1980 car
would no longer have to undergo this rite of re-registration ... Banich said many
collectors of 1976 and newer cars have modified their engines.
Aug 5, 2010 ... The seller says the car is a CA car an is not in the CA dmv system anymore What
are. ... DMV would only not have a record of the car if it were never registered in
CA. ... I have pre-75 muscle cars and they are in the DMV system, and ... to
restore it and it was apart for many years... it did drop off the system.
Thread: Registering a classic out of state vehicle in Ca ... Many local PD's will
verify the VIN at their station, some charge a small fee.