Every state's penal code includes provisions that apply to shoplifting (usually
under the umbrella of theft or larceny statutes), and penalties can be harsh ...
Shoplifting can cover everything from candy to alcohol, combs to jewelry, and
cleaning supplies to computer equipment. Even if this is your first offense, you
Nov 23, 2012 ... The maximum penalty for a 1st offense shoplifting charge is a fine. You cannot be
sentenced to jail, even if you have a prior offense, regardless ...
The retail theft law has become one of the more complicated laws on the books.
... Generally, a first offense shoplifting charge will be issued as a municipal ...
What you may not realize, is that charges for shoplifting can range from an
infraction or misdemeanor to a felony, depending on state criminal law and what
you steal. ... the charges dropped, reduced or deferred, especially if it's the first
(a) A person commits the offense of shoplifting if, with intent to appropriate ... §61-
3A-3. Penalties. A person convicted of shoplifting shall be punished as follows:.
All misdemeanor offense carry a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and $1,000
fine although a first time offender would rarely be sentenced ...
§61-3A-3. Penalties. A person convicted of shoplifting shall be punished as
follows: (a) First offense conviction. -- Upon a first shoplifting conviction: (1) When
Dec 3, 2014 ... Of course, retail shoplifting must be taken seriously. ... In Maryland, the criminal
penalties are stiff, and they increase with the value of the goods ...
It is a disorderly persons offense if the full retail value of the merchandise is less
than ... Hence, under New Jersey shoplifting law, the first question is always the ...