Web Results

Timeline of drafting and ratification of the United States Constitution ...


The following is a timeline of the drafting and ratification of the United States Constitution. .... September 17 • Constitution signed and Convention adjourns: The approved Constitution is si...

State-by-State Ratification Table | Teaching American History


Ratification of the Constitution. by Gordon Lloyd ... States are listed in the order in which they ratified the Constitution. ... Stage VI: All the Pillars in Place.

Ratification Dates and Votes - The U.S. Constitution Online ...


Jan 24, 2010 ... Each of the original thirteen states in the United States was invited to ratify the Constitution created in Philadelphia in 1787. The Constitution ...

The Ratification of the Constitution - National Archives and Records ...


On September 17, 1787, a majority of the delegates to the Constitutional ... directed the state legislatures to call ratification conventions in each state. Article VII stipulated that nine states had to ratify the Constitution for it to go into effect.

The Ratification Process: State by State [ushistory.org]


Five state conventions voted to approve the Constitution almost immediately ( December 1787 to January 1788) and in all of them the vote was unanimous ...

States and Dates of Ratification - Ben's Guide


On September 17, 1787, the Constitution of the United States was finally ... Each state was given six months to meet and vote on the proposed Constitution.

U.S. Constitution - Infoplease


The draft (originally a preamble and seven Articles) was submitted to all thirteen states and was to become effective when ratified by nine states. It went into ...

Order for Ratification of the Constitution


Mar 30, 2016 ... The articles had a number of weaknesses including that each state only had ... Here is the order in which the states ratified the US Constitution.

Constitution - Bill of Rights Institute


Nine of the 13 states would have to ratify it for the Constitution to become effective for those ratifying states. The future was not certain at all—a debate began ...

The Constitution For The United States, Its Sources and Its ...


The course of the thirteen States in ratifying the new Constitution presents an interesting ... Be it Known unto all Men that We the Delegates of the People of the  ...

Delaware was the first colony to ratify the United States Constitution on December 7, 1787, effectively becoming the first state of the United States.
The first thirteen colonies to sign the Constitution and become states were, in order: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island.
More Info

Dates of Ratification of the Constitution | Teaching American History


State, Date, Votes for, Votes against. Delaware, December 7, 1787, 30, 0. Pennsylvania, December 12, 1787, 46, 23. New Jersey, December 18, 1787, 38, 0.

The Constitution of the United States: Questions and Answers


The voting was by States, and the vote of each State that of a majority of its deputies. ... Q. The vote of how many States was necessary to ratify the Constitution?

June 21, 1788 : US Constitution ratified - History.com


June 21, 1788 : U.S. Constitution ratified ... becomes the ninth and last necessary state to ratify the Constitution of the United States, thereby ... All Rights Reserved.