Web Results

County (United States)


In the United States, a county is a political and geographic subdivision of a state, usually assigned some level of governmental authority. The term "county" is used in 48 of the 50 U.S. s...

How many states have parishes instead of counties? | Reference.com


According to the National Association of Counties, only one state has parishes instead of counties. Counties are called parishes in Louisiana, but the difference  ...

Louisiana is the only state to have parishes and not counties ...


Louisiana was officially Roman Catholic under both France and Spain's rule. The boundaries dividing the territories generally coincided with church parishes.

Why are there parishes in Louisiana, US instead of counties? - Quora


I believe this stems from the State's origin as a French and Spanish Colony. The colony's governance was divided into small geographic units (French: paroisse; ...

What are the only two US states that have no counties within their ...


Feb 21, 2005 ... It is divided into parishes. ... In addition to Louisiana and Alaska having no counties, there are two states, Connecticut and Rhode Island, that ...

Original 12 Parishes Of Louisiana - 97.3 The Dawg


Apr 8, 2016 ... In 1803, Louisiana had 12 parishes as defined by the Territorial ... We have parishes instead of counties because of Louisiana's strong ...

In the US which state has parishes instead of counties - Answers.com


Louisiana(: IloveKatyPerry<33 Jren. ... Which US state has parishes instead of counties? Louisiana. 4 people found this useful. Edit. Share to: Answered by The  ...

What other states have Parishes instead of counties - Answers.com


No other states in the US has parishes instead of counties. ... The term "parish" is used instead of "county" because Louisiana was originally French, not British.

Louisiana Fun Facts and Trivia - Louisiana State Facts - 50States.com


Louisiana is the only state in the union that does not have counties. ... Saint Martin Parish is home to the world's largest freshwater river basin, the Atchafalaya ...

US Counties - Illinois Highways Page


Counties in the United States ... By my count there are 3143 Counties, Parishes or Independent Cities in the USA. ... Louisiana has Parishes instead of Counties.

More Info

Why does Louisiana have parishes and not counties? | Reference.com


Originally, Louisiana was the territory of Spain and then France, both Roman Catholic countries, and those colonial powers divided their lands according to ...

Louisiana Parishes: History and Information


Louisiana's government is like that of no other state in the United States of America. Louisiana has "parishes" instead of "counties" and each of those parishes, ...

Louisiana.gov - Explore


As part of Louisiana's French legacy counties are called "parishes." Early French and Spanish settlers influenced the legal system in Louisiana. Despite popular ...