Web Results



The Oresteia (Ancient Greek: Ὀρέστεια) is a trilogy of Greek tragedies written by Aeschylus concerning the end of the curse on the House of Atreus and the ...

The Oresteia - Aeschylus - Ancient Greece - Classical Literature


A basic level guide to some of the best known and loved works of prose, poetry and drama from ancient Greece - The Oresteia by Aeschylus.

Price: $5.49
Editorial Reviews. Language Notes. Text: English, Greek (translation). From the Back Cover ... In the Oresteia Aeschylus addressed the bloody chain of murder and revenge within the royal family of Argos. As they move from darkness to light,  ...
Amazon.com  · More about this product »

Introductory Note - CliffsNotes


The main idea of The Oresteia is that injustice and such primitive instruments of morality as the blood-feud must be eliminated if human society is ever to attain to  ...

SparkNotes: Agamemnon


Order The Oresteia: Agamemnon, the Libation-Bearers & the Furies at BN.com ... is the first play in a trilogy of tragedies by Aeschylus entitled the Oresteia.

Oresteia | work by Aeschylus | Britannica.com


Sep 30, 2015 ... Oresteia, trilogy of tragic dramas by the ancient Greek dramatist Aeschylus, first performed in 458 bce. It is his last work and the only complete ...

The Oresteia: Introduction - TheatreHistory.com


Of all the works of Aeschylus the strongest in dramatic force is the Oresteia, a series consisting of the Agamemnon, the Choëphoræ (or Libation Bearers) and the ...

www.ask.com/youtube?q=The Oresteia&v=O7sdZQ1BDs0
Jul 14, 2011 ... The Oresteia Agamemnon part 1 ... I have found most helpful Hugh Lloyd-Jones translation with extensive line by line notes of "The Oresteia"..

The Oresteia (Ορέστεια, #1-3) by Aeschylus — Reviews, Discussion ...


In the Oresteia—the only trilogy in Greek drama which survives from antiquity— Aeschylus took as his subject the bloody chain of murder and revenge within the  ...

Agamemnon - Shmoop


Agamemnon is the first play in a trilogy of tragedies by Aeschylus entitled the Oresteia. (The second two parts are called Libation Bearers and Eumenides.) ...

More Info



The Oresteia. The collective name given to the three Greek tragedies (trilogy) by Aeschylus on the story of Agamemnon, Clytemnestra, and Orestes, produced at ...

SparkNotes: Agamemnon: Context


Agamemnon is the first of a trilogy, the Oresteia, the other two parts of which are The Libation-Bearers and The Eumenides. The trilogy--the only such work to ...

Oresteia review – a terrifying immediacy | Stage | The Guardian


Jun 7, 2015 ... 'Razor-sharp': Lia Williams as Clytemnestra with Angus Wright's 'loping, rangey' Agamemnon in Oresteia at the Almeida. Photograph: Tristram ...