What foods are Hindus not allowed to eat?
Credit:Subir BasakMoment OpenGetty Images
Q:

What foods are Hindus not allowed to eat?

A:

Quick Answer

Hindus are forbidden to eat most animal-based foods, such as eggs, fish, poultry or beef. Very strict Hindus also keep alcohol, caffeine and other stimulants out of their diets as well.

 Know More

Full Answer

Animal-based foods are not sanctioned by the religious texts and are not considered fit for human consumption, so a good portion of Hindus are vegetarian. Cows are held as sacred creatures, so the consumption of beef is wholly forbidden and the act of killing a cow at all is seen as a sin. Food is a deep-set part of the Hindu religion, and what is consumed is eaten to honor both the body and the gods. Dietary restrictions are dependant on the area as well, as in certain parts of India Hindus are permitted to eat fish as "fruits of the sea" while in other areas they are not.

More strict practitioners also avoid mushrooms, garlic, onions, alcohol and coffee or tea if it contains caffeine. The avoidance of garlic and onions is said to be because the odor is offensive to Lord Krishna, while mushrooms are seen as being grown in unclean ground. If alcohol is ingested, the practitioner must bathe before attempting to enter the temple as religion and diet are intertwined.

Learn more about Hinduism

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Why don't Hindus eat beef?

    A:

    Hindus don't eat beef because in their religion, cows are seen as the symbol of life. Cows are protected animals in India, and most rural families own a cow that they treat as a member of the family.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Which foods are restricted among Hindus?

    A:

    The dietary restrictions of Hindus vary among practitioners: nearly all abstain from eating beef, and some follow a predominantly vegetarian diet, while others, such as Shaktas, consume meat, provided it comes from animals sacrificed in rituals. Among Hindus, Shaivites and Shaktas have the most lenient diets and may include meat products in their meals, while more conservative Hindu branches such as Vaishna abide by theological rules that dictate permissible and impermissible foods.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are examples of "grow" foods?

    A:

    Some examples of grow foods are meat, poultry, fish, seafood, milk and dairy products, eggs, nuts and beans. Grow foods aid the body in building and repairing body tissues and make muscles stronger. Grow foods form part of a curriculum developed for teaching preschoolers healthy eating and nutrition .

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    What are foods you can and cannot eat while on the Atkin's Diet?

    A:

    Foods that are permitted on the Atkins diet include fat and protein from butter, poultry, vegetable oils, fish, eggs and red meat, says WebMD. Foods that aren't permitted on the Atkins diet include bread, pasta, grains, starchy vegetables, beans and nuts. Caffeine and alcohol are also prohibited.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore