Hindus believe in samsara, an eternal cycle of birth, life and deaths or reincarnation, explains How Stuff Works. In Hinduism, each individual soul is considered immortal or eternal. Samsara is controlled by karma, which, in Hinduism, is the moral law of action and reaction. All Hindus believe that each individual accumulates karma during his lifetime and the present condition of the human body and soul is affected by past actions.Know More
Reincarnation means "reenter the flesh." In Hinduism, the soul never dies and just inhabits one body after another during its evolutionary journey. Sometimes, the soul is born into another human body, sometimes in a plant's body, or sometimes an animal body. If an individual accumulates good karma during his lifetime, he may earn a higher place in the Hindu's caste system. If he does evil deeds, his soul may be pushed down to the lowest level of the chain. A person may change his karma by practicing good deeds, yoga or spiritual discipline.
While souls are considered eternal in Hinduism, every Hindus' ultimate goal is to exit the cycle of birth or salvation from samsara, also called moksha. To achieve moksha, a Hindu is expected to break ties from all that binds him to this world and to completely surrender to the Lord. A Hindu who has achieved moksha is released from samsara, which is also seen as an eternal cycle of suffering and pain.Learn More
While Catholics have the Pope as their leader and Buddhists have the Dalai Lama, Shintoists do not have a central leader. Instead, each Shinto shrine operates independently and is led by an educated Shinto priest.Full Answer >
Food and drink that the Hindus avoid include meat, eggs, poultry, fish, caffeine, alcohol and very spicy foods, and strict Hindus also do not eat mushrooms, onions, leeks and garlic. Not all Hindus avoid meat, but most of them try to avoid beef. The Hindu faith promotes a number of dietary practices arising from the belief of respecting God's creation and living in peace with nature.Full Answer >
A swordfish is not considered kosher food. The Torah says a fish must have fins and scales to be kosher. Only fish that have visible scales that can be easily removed are considered kosher, and swordfish do not meet this requirement.Full Answer >
The Novena to St. Joseph is a series of prayers one says to Jesus' earthly father for nine days to obtain help. The prayer says in part "no one ever had recourse to your protection or asked for your aid without obtaining relief."Full Answer >