According to the Torah, Jews are not allowed to eat any animal without cloven hooves, including products from shellfish or insects. They are also prohibited from eating or preparing meat and dairy together. Furthermore, after eating one of these food types, observant Jews must wait at least one hour before eating the other.Know More
Permitted food for Jews is referred to as Kosher. Kosher animals are cows, sheep, goats and poultry. However, in order to fully qualify for Kosher certification, these animals must be slaughtered according to Jewish law. This involves near-immediate death and the removal of fat, blood and veins.
Fruits, vegetables and other plant-based foods are generally permitted for consumption, but care must be taken to inspect them for insects.Learn more about Religion
During Passover only unleavened bread (matzah) is allowed, but foods containing barley, corn, wheat, spelt and rye are strictly prohibited during the celebration. These grains are used to make leavened bread, which is prohibited during Passover.Full Answer >
The day before a colonoscopy, the patient is allowed no food and only clear liquids. This includes broth, water, soft drinks, gelatin, clear juices, and coffee and tea with no milk or cream, according to the Mayo Clinic. The diet varies according to the patient's needs and the doctor's recommendations.Full Answer >
According to the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, dogs should not be allowed to eat wood. Animals that ingest non-food items suffer from a condition know as "pica," the ASPCA explains.Full Answer >
After a colonoscopy, people are allowed to return to their regular diets and do not need to follow any special restrictions, according to WebMD. There is a small holding period of approximately 30 minutes after the procedure is completed during which patients are monitored for possible complications.Full Answer >