Q:

Why do Orthodox Jewish women wear wigs?

A:

Orthodox Jewish women wear wigs as a symbol of modesty. The Talmud, Judaism’s main text, expostulates that women’s hair is suggestive of sensuality. As a result, upon marriage, many Jewish women take to covering their hair in public. Because the Talmud also advocates that women take care of their appearance, Jewish women may choose to wear wigs instead of scarves to appear more polished and elegant.

A number of women have elevated finding the perfect wig into an art form. If they have the means, they might pay as much as $2,000 for a wig made of real human hair. They will also hand over an additional several hundred dollars to have it cut into a natural style.

Some have argued that wearing a wig defeats the purpose of striving for modesty. “When the practice of wearing a wig first emerged, there was quite a protest,'' said Rabbi Rafael Grossman, as quoted in The New York Times. But the Halakha, or Jewish law, only advises women to cover their hair; it does not specify how.

In medieval times, Jewish women would shave their hair upon marriage and cover their heads with shawls. Today, Hasidic Jews still follow this practice, but many women simply pin their hair up underneath a wig.

Learn More

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Who are the leaders of the Shinto religion?

    A:

    While Catholics have the Pope as their leader and Buddhists have the Dalai Lama, Shintoists do not have a central leader. Instead, each Shinto shrine operates independently and is led by an educated Shinto priest.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are Hindu dietary restrictions?

    A:

    Food and drink that the Hindus avoid include meat, eggs, poultry, fish, caffeine, alcohol and very spicy foods, and strict Hindus also do not eat mushrooms, onions, leeks and garlic. Not all Hindus avoid meat, but most of them try to avoid beef. The Hindu faith promotes a number of dietary practices arising from the belief of respecting God's creation and living in peace with nature.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is swordfish kosher?

    A:

    A swordfish is not considered kosher food. The Torah says a fish must have fins and scales to be kosher. Only fish that have visible scales that can be easily removed are considered kosher, and swordfish do not meet this requirement.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the 9-day prayer to St. Joseph?

    A:

    The Novena to St. Joseph is a series of prayers one says to Jesus' earthly father for nine days to obtain help. The prayer says in part "no one ever had recourse to your protection or asked for your aid without obtaining relief."

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore