Web Results


The United States Senate is the upper chamber of the United States Congress, which along with the United States House of Representatives—the lower chamber—comprise the legislature of the United States. The composition and powers of the Senate are established by Article One of the United States Constitution.


The United States Senate consists of 100 members, two from each of the 50 states. Below is a list of the current U.S. Senators, sitting in the 115th United States Congress. Contents. [hide]. 1 Party affiliation; 2 Leadership. 2.1 Majority ( Republican) leadership; 2.2 Minority (Democratic) leadership. 3 Senators; 4 See also ...


Plan a Visit to the Capitol · Your visit to the historic U.S. Capitol begins as you enter the Capitol Visitor Center. The visitor's center is located below the East Plaza of the Capitol between Constitution and Independence Avenues.


Alexander, Lamar - (R - TN). Class II. 455 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510. (202) 224-4944. Contact: www.alexander.senate.gov/ public/index.cfm?p=Email ...


U.S. Senate. The U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives make up the two chambers of Congress. The Senate has 100 members, 2 from each state, who are elected to serve for a term of 6 years.


Partisan breakdown. Following the most recent special election in 2016, the Republican Party holds the majority in the U.S. Senate. Republicans have 51 Senate seats while Democrats have 47 Senate seats. Two seats are held by independents, who caucus with the Democratic Party.


U.S. Senate. History and Justice, sculpture above the main door to the U.S. Senate, east portico. The U.S. Senate, together with the U.S. House of Representatives, makes up the U.S. Congress. The Senate holds certain unique powers and obligations. Its makeup is different too: two senators represent each state, and ...


The United States Senate is the upper house of the legislative branch of the federal government, with the House of Representatives referred to as the lower house. But in the United States, the terms “upper” and “lower” house are merely shorthand, dating back to a time in the 1780s when the Senate and House of ...


Feb 22, 2018 ... Senate, one of the two houses of the legislature (Congress) of the United States, established in 1789 under the Constitution. Each state elects two senators for six- year terms. The terms of about one-third of the Senate membership expire every two years, earning the chamber the nickname “the house that ...